No Pakistani prime minister has completed a full tenure

In 75-year history, no Pakistani prime minister has completed a full five-year tenure, a trend that has spread since the removal of Imran Khan, who lost a no-confidence vote Sunday.

Pakistan, which has been a parliamentary democracy for most of its history, has had a total of 29 prime ministers since 1947, one of whom has served twice during the year.

Imran Khan was removed as prime minister as a result of a no-confidence vote in the National Assembly on Saturday and Sunday evenings.

In the last days of his presidency, Imran Khan used all possible means to block the no-confidence vote, even taking steps such as dissolving the meeting, but then he had to surrender to the Supreme Court.

Yesterday was also a turbulent day in Pakistan’s history when after a long day of delays in last night’s Assembly, a vote on the opposition movement finally took place and Imran Khan was forced to resign as prime minister.

  • Liaquat Ali Khan: Pakistan’s first prime minister. August 1947 to October 16, 1951. Tenure: Four years and two months.
  • Khawaja Nazimuddin: October 17, 1951, to April 17, 1953, Tenure: One year and six months.
  • Muhammad Ali Bogra: Took office April 17, 1953. to August 11, 1955. Tenure: Two years and three months.
  • Chaudhri Mohammad Ali: August 1955 to September 12, 1956. Tenure: One year and one month.
  • Hussain Shaheed Suhrawardy: September 12, 1956, to October 18, 1957. Tenure: One year and one month.
  • Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar: October 1957 to December 16, 1957. Tenure: 1 and half months.
  • Malik Feroz Khan Noon: December 16, 1957, to October 7, 1958. Tenure: 10 months.
  • Noorul Amin: December 7, 1971, to December 20, 1971: Tenure: Less than two weeks.
  • Zulfikar Ali Bhutto: August 14, 1973, to July 5, 1977, Tenure: Three years and 11 months.
  • Muhammad Khan Junejo: March 1985 to May 29, 1988; Tenure: Three years and two months.
  • Benazir Bhutto: December 2, 1988, to August 6, 1990; Tenure: One year and eight months.
  • Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif: November 6, 1990, to April 18, 1993; tenure: Two years and seven months.
  • Benazir Bhutto: October 19, 1993, to November 5, 1996. Tenure: three years.
  • Nawaz Sharif: February 17, 1997, to October 12, 1999. Tenure: Two years and eight months.
  • Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali: November 2002 to June 26, 2004. Tenure: One year and seven months.
  • Yousaf Raza Gilani: March 25, 2008, to 2012; Tenure: Four years and one month.
  • Nawaz Sharif: June 5, 2013, to July 28, 2017. Tenure: Four years and two months.
  • Imran Khan: August 18, 2018, to April 10, 2022. Tenure: Three years and seven months.

You can connect with Ground Report on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Whatsapp and Subscribe to our YouTube channel. For suggestions and writeups mail us at  Pakistani prime minister tenure