Skip to content
Home » HOME » Know about sitting MLA’s in Madhya Pradesh with Criminal Charges

Know about sitting MLA’s in Madhya Pradesh with Criminal Charges

MLA Responsibilities

Ahead of the MP assembly elections in 2023, the Association of Democratic Reforms (ADR) has released its report, which revealed that 93 sitting Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) of 230 have criminal charges against them. ADR is a non-profit organisation that discloses the background of candidates contesting elections.

Criminal cases involving sitting MLAs

As per reports, 39 members belong to the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP), 52 to the Indian National Congress (INC), one to the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), and the remaining one is independent. The report focused on 47 MLAs out of 93 having serious cases: one MLA has a case of murder (IPC Section 302), six MLAs have cases of attempted murder in IPC 307, and two MLAs have cases against women crime under IPC 354.

List of MLAs having most of registered cases            

BhojpurSurendra PatwaBJP26
RauJintendra PatwariINC11
KalapipalKunal ChoudharyINC9
GwaliorPradhuman Singh TomarINC20
Bhopal Dakshin PaschimPC SharmaINC14
Source: One India

Financial background of sitting MLAs

The report also mentioned the financial background of MLAs, stating that 186 out of the 230 sitting MLAs are crorepati. 76 members out of 97 are from the opposition. Sanjay Shukla, the richest MLA of the Congress party, holds wealth worth over Rs 139 crore. Sanjay Shukla is elected from the Indore (also called Mini Mumbai) 1st assembly, and in this MP assembly election 2023, he is contesting against the senior BJP leader Kailash Vijayvargiya.

Also Read:  Lindor of Lahaul Spiti is also sinking like Joshimath, changing climate is reason!

The 107 MLAs out of 129 of BJP are crorepati; Sanjay Pathak is the richest, holding over Rs 226 crore. He was elected from the Viajyraghavgarh assembly seat in Katni district.

Education Qualification of Sitting MLAs

The 62 MLAs declared educational qualification to be between 5th and 12th grade; frequently, 158 MLAs declared graduation and above. Four MLAs have declared themselves literate, and one has declared themselves illiterate. MP will undergo polls on November 17 and count votes on December 3.

Keep reading

Also Read:  How much is India's Bio-fuel generation in 2023?

Follow Ground Report for Climate Change and Under-Reported issues in India. Connect with us on FacebookTwitterKoo AppInstagramWhatsapp and YouTube. Write us on


  • Currently pursuing a BSc (hons) degree in Electronic Media from the Makhan Lal Chaturvedi National University of Journalism and Communication, Bhopal

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.