Powered by

Home Top Stories

Damanpreet Singh of AAP, Once a Dhabawala Defeated BJP mayor in Chandigarh

Who is Damanpreet Singh of AAP; The new Aam Aadmi party has become the leading party that has won 13 out of 35 districts so far,

By Ground Report
New Update
Who is Damanpreet Singh of AAP Who Defeated BJP mayor in Chandigarh

Ground Report | New Delhi: In Chandigarh municipal corporation elections AAP won 14 seats, BJP came second with 12, while Congress won in eight wards and the Akali Dal in one. In a major setback for the ruling BJP, acting mayor and party candidate Ravi Kant Sharma was defeated by Damanpreet Singh of the AAP.

ALSO READ: Big win for AAP in Chandigarh Municipal elections

Who is Damanpreet Singh of AAP?

AAP's Damanpreet Singh, who used to run a Dhaba, defeated BJP Mayor Ravi Kant Sharma by a margin of 828 votes. Damanpreet said that he had to shut down his Dhaba, "Sardar Ji da Dhaba" because he was being harassed by the civic corporation officials.

When Existing mayor get to know that food for Protesting farmers in Delhi is been supplied from his Dhaba. They started creating problems.

Damanpreet has said in his statement after this historic victory ''I have got this victory in view of the honest attitude of the Arvind Kejriwal government of Delhi. People have become very upset due to corruption in Chandigarh Municipal Corporation. I am very happy that the people of my ward and God have given me a chance to serve the people''.

I was harassed for no reason. The MHO of the Municipal Corporation issued challans against me several times. Not only this, when I was running the dhaba, the people of the municipal corporation used to harass me unnecessarily, due to which one day I closed my dhaba and decided to fight against this corrupt system, and the image of you is that of an honest party. decided to contest the election.

ALSO READ: How much donation did Mother Teresa’s organization receive from abroad?

Damanpreet is not the only common man to win this election, housewives, and teachers have also won this election, who have defeated the veteran leaders of politics. Housewife Prem Lata defeated Congress Sitting Counselor Ravinder Gujral. On the other hand, teacher Taruna Mehta defeated BJP's Sitting Counselor Sunita Dhawan from ward no. 18.

You can connect with Ground Report on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Whatsapp. For suggestions and writeups mail us at [email protected]