Skip to content
Home ยป No J&K cadre now; IAS, IPS & IFS cadre of J&K merged with AGMUT cadre

No J&K cadre now; IAS, IPS & IFS cadre of J&K merged with AGMUT cadre

The Central Government has amended the Jammu and Kashmir Re-Organization Act. The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has issued the notification eliminating the IAS, IPS and IFS cadres of Jammu and Kashmir. It has now been merged with Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Mizoram and the Union Territories Act (AGMUT).

ALSO READ: Solution To Kashmir Issue Possible Only Through Dialogue: Mehbooba Mufti

The President of India today promulgated an ordinance to amend the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act which earlier protected the Jammu & Kashmir cadre of three prestigious services.

What will be difference in changing cadre of officers?

Till now officers of Jammu and Kashmir cadre were not appointed in other states. This bond will end after the new order. Officers here will be able to be posted in other states. The capital Delhi also comes under the AGMUT cadre. Therefore, Delhi cadre officers will also be able to be deployed in Jammu and Kashmir. Officers of Jammu and Kashmir cadre can be made in Delhi, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa and Mizoram.

ALSO READ: After removal of 370, militancy now under control in Kashmir: Nityanand Rai

This is the first amendment in the Reorganisation law after it was approved by the Parliament in August 2019. Earlier, the Reorganisation Act provided that the members of the cadres of Indian Administrative Service, Indian Police Service and Indian Forest Service for the existing State of Jammu and Kashmir shall continue to function on the existing cadres.

Also Read:  How Climate Change is impacting Walnut yield in Kashmir?

However, it provided that the All India Service officers to be posted to Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir or Union territory of Ladakh shall be borne on the Arunachal Goa Mizoram Union Territory cadre and necessary modifications in corresponding cadre allocations rules may be made accordingly by the central government.

ALSO READ: Article 370 has given licence to buy property in Kashmir: Yogi Adityanath

The central government removed article 370 on 5 August 2019 and divided the state into two union territories Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. During this time many big leaders were put under house arrest. These included names like former Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti, Farooq Abdullah, Omar Abdullah.

You can connect with Ground Report on FacebookTwitter and Whatsapp, and mail us at to send us your suggestions and writeups.

%d bloggers like this: