Skip to content
Home » Manoj Kumar Paras Winning Nagina (SC) Seat in 2022 UP Elections 

Manoj Kumar Paras Winning Nagina (SC) Seat in 2022 UP Elections 

Ground Report | New Delhi: Manoj Kumar Paras of Samajwadi Party Leading on Nagina (SC) Seat by huge margin.

O.S.N.CandidatePartyEVM VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of Votes
1BRAJPALBahujan Samaj Party3088903088920.16
2MANOJ KUMAR PARASSamajwadi Party6491906491942.37
3DR YASHWANT SINGHBharatiya Janata Party4795704795731.3
4SHRIMATI HENREITAIndian National Congress1307013070.85
5ABHINAY KUMARPeoples Party of India (Democratic)23102310.15
6ARJUN SINGHAam Aadmi Party17801780.12
7TEJ SINGHAmbedkar Samaj Party16301630.11
8LALITAAll India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen5155051553.36
9VIKAS KUMARAazad Samaj Party (Kanshi Ram)22202220.14
10CHANDRAVEER SINGHIndependent28402840.19
11BRIJPAL SINGHIndependent61006100.4
12SUNIL KUMARIndependent41304130.27
13NOTANone of the Above89408940.58
Total 1532220153222

Uttar Pradesh Elections Nagina (SC) ; The Samajwadi Party won this constituency in 2017. Nagina is located in Uttar Pradesh’s Bijnor district. Manoj Kumar Paras of the Samajwadi Party won the seat in 2017 by a margin of 7967 votes over Omwati Devi of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Uttar Pradesh Elections Nagina (SC)

Since 1974, the Muslim-dominated constituency of Nagina in Uttar Pradesh’s Bijnor district has been reserved for SC/STs. On February 14, 2022, Nagina will vote in the second phase of the Uttar Pradesh election. Three candidates are running in for the elections. Dr Yashwant Singh a candidate of Bhartiya Janta party , Manoj Kumar Paras who previously won in 2017 from Samajwadi party and Brijpal Singh from Bahujan Samaj party BSP. 

Candidates in Field

  • BJP: Dr Yashwant Singh
  • SP-RLD: Manoj Kumar Paras
  • BSP: Brijpal Singh

BJP Candidate Dr Yashwant Singh 

59 years old Dr Yashwant Singh was born in 1962 in village Churiyala in district Muzaffarnagar in Uttar Pradesh. He is contesting in these elections from Bhartiya Janta party. He by profession is a doctor.He graduated from the All India Institute of Medical Sciences in New Delhi with an M.B.B.S., M.D. Singh was a member of the Uttar Pradesh State Legislative Assembly for two terms, from 2002 to 2012. He was a Minister of State from 2007 to 2012. (Independent Charge). In May of 2014, he was elected to the 16th Lok Sabha. Since September 2014, he has been a member of the Standing Committee on Rural Development. Singh wants to work for the upliftment of Dalit community. He wants to keep the social elements united and work for the welfare of the society.  He has been active in politics since 2002. In 2014 he was appointed as a member of, Consultative Committee in the Ministry of Railways,  Standing Committee on Rural Development. In the same year in the 16th Lok Sabha, he defeated SP’s Yashvir Singh in the Nagina constituency.  In 2019 he ran for and won the Nagina constituency in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

SP-RLD Candidate Manoj Kumar Paras 

Manoj Kumar Paras was born on 14 June 1967 in district Bijnor Uttar Pradesh. He has studied till middle school. By profession he is into agriculture and works as an agriculturalist. Manoj Kumar Paras has served in the assembly for two terms. He is a member of the Samajwadi Party and represents the Nagina constituency. Paras also served in the Uttar Pradesh government as a minister. Akhilesh Yadav fired Paras (as a minister) on March 9, 2014, citing “anti-party acts.” In the 2017 elections however Bhartiya Janata Party candidate Omwati Devi lost to Paras by 7,967 votes in the 2017 elections. He was also arrested in a gang – rape case. According to an affidavit signed by Manoj Kumar Paras, there are two criminal charges pending against him. Manoj Kumar Paras, the two-term MLA from Nagina, has been nominated for re-election in the constituency.

BSP Candidate Brijpal Singh 

Brijpal Singh is a candidate from Bahujan Samaj party. He will be running in upcoming elections from Nagina constituency. Brijpal Singh is a youth leader who has done his engineering from  Galgotia College of Engineering.  He calls himself brave and hardworking. 

Nagina since a Muslim dominated constituency, has a strong vote bank of Muslim voters. There have been issues of law and order in the past. The constituency is reserved for scheduled castes and scheduled Tribes (SC/ST). There are katchi sadak (dilapidated roads), the constituency also has visible poverty while a very small section of people are well-off. The prevalence of casteism is also one of the main issues there. Other issues include that of water crises, unemployment, electricity and transportation. There are also issues of underdevelopment and regional politics. There also needs to be improvement in agriculture. 

Samajwadi party has a stronger hold than all the other two. Samajwadi party has won four times since the 1977 elections. It has 67% more chances of winning. The election will commence on February 14, 2022 and the vote counting will take place on March 10, 2022.

Uttar Pradesh Election Phases

  • 1st Phase: February 10
  • 2nd Phase: February 14
  • 3rd Phase: February 20
  • 4th Phase: February 23
  • 5th Phase: February 27
  • 6th Phase: March 3
  • 7th Phase: March 7
  • Results: 10th March

You can connect with Ground Report on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Whatsapp and Subscribe to our YouTube channel. For suggestions and writeups mail us at 


%d bloggers like this: