Powered by

Home Must Read

Five essential things in Islam, wearing Hijab mentioned in the Qur’an?

Five essential things in Islam; Islam is based on essential five pillars that also form the norms of the basic practice of Islam.

By Babra Wani
New Update
Five essential things in Islam, wearing Hijab mentioned in the Qur’an

Ground Report | New Delhi: Five essential things in Islam; Islam is based on essential five pillars that also form the norms of the basic practice of Islam. They are:- 

 The declaration of faith (shahada)

Prayer (salah)

Alms-giving (zakat)

Fasting (siyaam or roza) and

Pilgrimage (hajj)

Five essential things in Islam

For the practice of Islam, the above-mentioned five things are very essential. They have a universal acceptance amongst Muslims, irrespective of region, ethnicity, and sect. Adhering to these five pillars or rules is essential for all the followers of Islam, be it any gender or any sect. The faith of believers of Islam is governed by these five obligations, and it is important for the believer to fulfill these in their lifetime. 

For Muslims following these five basic principles are extremely important. The following are the five pillars of Islam, summed up in a few words:- 

1. Shahada (the declaration of faith):- It is the first and the foremost fundamental principle of Islam. It is a statement made by Muslims to declare their faith and belief in Allah and His Prophet Muhammad PBUH. "There is no God but God (Allah), and Muhammad is His Messenger,” this statement makes a Muslim different from other faiths. This is also called Kalmae Shahada. It is basically testifying, firmly believing, and submitting to. 

2. Salah (the prayer):- Salah is also called namaz or nimaz. It is an essential ritual, through which Muslims worship or pray to Allah. It is done in the direction of Mecca, also known as qibla. Salah is performed by Muslims five times a day. After the prayer call, adhaan, is called from the mosque (masjid), Muslims perform wudhu (ablution) and go to offer their Salah. It is considered a great virtue of Islam. Establishing Salah is how Muslims show their love to Allah. 

3. Zakat (alms-giving):- Zakat or Zakaah is the third pillar of Islam. It is an obligatory portion from a person's wealth and property to be spent on the poor, needy, and those who are eligible to receive zakat. It is an obligation upon each Muslim, regardless of their gender who possess the minimum amount of property called nisaab and have possessed it for a full lunar year, called hawlZakat is required on property like land, trees, gold, silver, money, animals, shops, etc. 

4. Siyaam (fasting):- The fourth pillar of Islam is observing Siyaam or fasting. It means abstaining from food, drink, sexual intercourse, and everything that can nullify the fast. It is observed from dawn until sunset. It is obligatory for every Muslim who has reached the age of puberty, is sane, and is capable of observing the fast. It is observed during the ninth month of Islam, the Ramadhan. The Muslims wake up early in the morning called suhoor when they eat and drink before the namaz of Fajr and then they break their fast only after sunset, called Iftar

5. Hajj (pligrimage):- Hajj is the fifth pillar of Islam. It is going to Mecca to perform pilgrimage in a specific manner. It is an obligation upon every Muslim, who is capable, one in their lifetime. 

It is essential for every Muslim to practice and observe these five essential things. The basic premise of religion is dependent on these five things. However there are other practices that Islam has asked Muslims to practice, one such practice is of Hijab

Hijab and Qur'an 

The ongoing Hijab row arose a lot of questions regarding the Hijab and its practice. Also how important and obligatory it is for Muslim women. The question of Hijab has been discussed in the light of the Qur'an and Hadith. From Qur'an and Hadith it is clear that whenever a woman steps out of her home, it is incumbent upon her to cover herself. There are a lot of ayah (verses) in the Holy Qur'an where the mention of Hijab can be found.  Qur'an has mentioned about Khimar which means head-covering, Khimar is what is now commonly called hijab

Surah Ahzab which is the 33rd chapter of the Qur'an and Surah Noor the chapter 24th of the Qur'an has mentioned about Hijab and its importance. In ayah number 59 to 62  of Surah Ahzab, it is mentioned "to cover" and in ayah number 31 of Surah Noor it is mentioned, "to draw veils." 

It is mentioned in Qur'an and Hadith for Muslim women to practice Hijab and cover their heads. 

Based on their knowledge and studies, many Islamic scholars believe that observing hijab is an obligation for Muslim women, as it is the command from Allah.

You can connect with Ground Report on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Whatsapp and Subscribe to our YouTube channel. For suggestions and writeups mail us at [email protected]   Five essential things in Islam

ALSO READ: What is Tamil Wordle, Why is it trending?

ALSO READ: How to crack Wordle game: 5-letter to use first

ALSO READ: What is Wordle? How to play and win the internet’s latest game obsession