Skip to content
Home ยป Delhi Elections: AAP’s Manish Sisodia wins after big scare in Delhi elections

Delhi Elections: AAP’s Manish Sisodia wins after big scare in Delhi elections

Ground Report News Desk | New Delhi:

The Patparganj Vidhan Sabha seat in Delhi witnessed a major poll battle between the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Indian National Congress (INC).

According to the latest Election Commission data, Manish Sisodia won from Patparganj assembly seat with 59,589 votes. Ravindra Singh Negi, standing for the BJP against him, got 57516 votes, while the Congress candidate finished third with 2332 votes.

Also read: Delhi election result: BJP defeated, not Congress’, says Punjab Congress minister

Sisodia was trailing by around 1400 votes till sometime back. During this time, there was a very close fight between BJP and AAP here. After counting the 11th round, Sisodia went ahead with 556 votes and eventually won.

However, Sisodia had fallen behind by 78 votes once the counting started before, but immediately became an edge again. In the last assembly election, Manish Sisodia from Patparganj assembly won the standard victory by a margin of around 28000 votes.

The BJP’s Parvesh Sahib Verma even used Mr Sisodia’s example to take a swipe at AAP. “If polls were conducted on education, then Delhi’s education minister wouldn’t be losing,” the MP remarked.

Also read: 63/70: In Delhi, development trumps hate

For AAP, Patparganj was one of the most prestigious seats, along with New Delhi. The BJP had won the seat in 1993. After that, it became a Congress stronghold until Sisodia won the seat in 2013 and 2015.

AAP is leading in 62 seats with a 52.4 per cent vote share and the BJP is leading on 12 seats with 39.9 per cent vote share. The Congress has scored zero in the second consecutive election.

%d bloggers like this: