Powered by

Home India

Who are six members of committee to investigate Adani-Hindenburg case

The Supreme Court, while listening to the requests related to Hindanberg's report on the Adani group, has ordered that a committee investigate

By Ground report
New Update
Meet six members of committee to investigate Adani-Hindenburg case

The Supreme Court, while listening to the requests related to Hindanberg's report on the Adani group, has ordered that a committee investigate the entire case. At the same time, the Supreme Court has also asked the SEBI to present the report in two months while continuing with the investigation of this case.

The committee that has been formed in the Adani-Hindonburg Mamme will have six members. He will be chaired by retired judge Abhay Manohar Sapre.

The Supreme Court bench, led by Chief Justice of India DY Chandrachud, has appointed six members as part of the expert committee. It includes OP Bhatt, Justice JP Devadhar, KV Kamath, Nandan Nilekani and Somasekhar Sundaresan, and will be headed by Former Supreme Court judge Justice Abhay Manohar Sapre.

Now allow us to tell you about the six members of the Committee formed by the Supreme Court that will investigate the Adani-Hindonburg case.

Justice Abhay Manohar Sapre

Justice Abhay Manohar Sapre was appointed as judges of the Supreme Court on 13 August 2014. Earlier, he was the Chief Justice of the Guwahati High Court. When Manipur became his High Court, Justice Abhay was appointed the first Chief Justice there.

His term in the Supreme Court remained till 27 August 2019.

Justice Sapre's first major appointment was made in 1999 when he was made Additional Judge of Madhya Pradesh. 2 years later, on 24 October 2001, he was appointed a permanent judge in the High Court.

10 years later, on 11 February 2010, he was made the head of the Jodhpur bench of Rajasthan High Court.

Justice JP Devadhar

Justice JP Devadhar was first promoted on 12 October 2001, when he was made Additional Judge of Bombay High Court. He retired from here on 8 April 2013.

After this, from July 2013 to July 2018, he was the President of the Securities Appellate Tribunal (SAT).

Justice Devadhar started his advocacy from the Bombay High Court in 1977. Here he practiced in constitutional and civil law. In particular, he worked on matters related to tax laws with Cooperative Society, Service Law, Rent Act, Customs and Excise Act.

Born on 8 April 1951, Justice Devadhar was schooling from Ankola in Karnataka. He completed his graduation from Karnataka University. After this, he earned a Masters degree in law from Bombay University.

Somasekhar Sundaresan

Somasekhar was a journalist in the early days. He was also a member of many committees of the Central Government. Especially in the committees of the Ministry of SEBI and the Ministry of Corporate Affairs, he gave suggestions for change after reviewing the legal and regulatory system.

As a lawyer, he worked on matters related to 'Regulatory and Compliance' (regulator and compliance).

He is considered an expert in cases of mergers and acquisitions with security law, and corporate governance.

KV Kamath

KV Kamath is a leading banker of the country. He started his career with ICICI Bank.

BRICS's 'New Development Bank' worked in several important positions with the chief. He was also the president of Infosys.

KV Kamath's name was also connected to global companies like Skulborgers and Lupine.

Nandan Nilekani

Nandan is the co-founder and president of Nilekani Infosys Technology Limited. He was also the founder president of the Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI).

With this position, he had the status of Cabinet Minister from 2009 to 2014.

58 -year -old Nandan Nilekani also established an NGO named 'Acasp', for which he is president. This institution provides technology-based platforms to improve basic literacy.

In January this year, he was made the head of the G20 'Digital Public Infrastructure for Economic Transformation, Financial Inclusion and Development' Task Force.

Om Prakash Bhatt

Om Prakash Bhatt has been the chairman of State Bank of India. He then joined the board of several multinational companies as an independent director.

These companies include Hindustan Unilever Limited, Tata Steel Limited, Tata Motors Limited.

Apart from this, he is also a non-executive chairman of companies like Greenco Energy Holdings Mauritius and Aadhaar Housing Finance Limited.

Keep Reading

Follow Ground Report for Climate Change and Under-Reported issues in India. Connect with us on FacebookTwitterKoo AppInstagramWhatsapp and YouTube. Write us at [email protected].