What is THE 6IXTY cricket, A New format With Different Rules

Cricket West Indies (CWI) and the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) on Wednesday unveiled THE 6IXTY, a new 60-ball cricket format, to be played between August 24-28 at Warner Park in St Kitts and Nevis.

According to initial information, the inaugural edition of THE 6IXTY will feature the six CPL franchises (men) and the three women’s teams (WCPL). “This revolutionary format will see completely new innovations that will change T10 cricket and make the game even faster and more action-packed,” the CPL said in a statement.

What Is THE 6IXTY cricket?

THE 6IXTY is a 60-ball cricket tournament featuring men’s and women’s teams. The first event will take place from August 24 to 28. Known as Cricket’s Power Game, this innovative and fast-paced format will see the world’s best cricketers entertain fans from around the world. THE 6IXTY is a joint venture between Cricket West Indies and the Caribbean Premier League.

some of the features

  • Each batting team has six wickets, instead of ten. That is, the batting team will be considered complete at the drop of the sixth wicket;
  • There will be a floating power play, which can be “unlocked” by the batting team after hitting two sixes in the initial power play of two;
  • As the name suggests, there will be 60 legal deliveries/10 overs per innings;
  • Bowling teams will deliver 30 balls/five consecutive overs from each end. And the entries must be completed within 45 minutes;
  • If teams fail to bowl their 10 overs within the stipulated time, one fielder will be eliminated for the last six balls;
  • And the fans will decide when the ‘mystery free hit’ can be taken, via an app or website.

Meanwhile, fans will also play a role in the game and vote for the moment of a “Mystery Free Hit”. “THE 6IXTY came about thanks to a close collaboration between CPL and CWI, which is the way forward. I’m really excited about the innovation, excitement and entertainment it will bring to fans,” said Ricky Skerritt, president of Cricket West Indies.

Pete Russell, CPL Chief Executive, said: “There will be world-class men’s and women’s cricketers taking part in a fantastic event for the Caribbean and this, combined with cutting-edge innovations, marks a great moment for all cricket fans from across the West Indies.”

The tenth edition of CPL is scheduled to take place from August 30 to September 30. The six teams competing are: Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallawahs, St Kitts & Nevis Patriots, Saint Lucia Kings and Trinbago Knight Riders.

Read more on Sport

You can connect with Ground Report on Facebook, Twitter, Koo App, Instagram, and Whatsapp and Subscribe to our YouTube channel. For suggestions and writeups mail us at GReport2018@gmail.com