Skip to content
Home » Jammu: Janipur-Amphalla road to be renamed after Prasad Mukherjee

Jammu: Janipur-Amphalla road to be renamed after Prasad Mukherjee

Jammu strike first-time post Article 370, what is the reason?

Ground Report | Jammu: Jammu: Janipur-Amphalla road; Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led Jammu Municipal Corporation has decided to rename the Jammu city’s busy Janipur-Amphalla road after Syama Prasad Mukherjee, the founder of Bharatiya Jan Sangh to pay tributes to him on his birth anniversary.

Jammu: Janipur-Amphalla road

JMC Mayor Chander Mohan Gupta along with Surinder Sharma corporator of Ward Number 38 Janipur will rename the Janipur – Amphalla road after Syama Prasad Mukherjee, News Agency KNO reported.

The invitation reads that the function will be held at 12 noon opposite Janipur police station today, Pertinently, this is not the first time that BJP led JMC has renamed the city’s main landmarks or roads.

ALSO READ: Muslims should be thrown out of country: Haryana BJP spokesperson

Earlier, JMC renamed historic City Chowk, the commercial hub in old Jammu, as ‘Bharat Mata Chowk’, Circular Road Chowk as ‘Atal Ji Chowk’, Bahu Lochan Chowk near Gandola site Bahu Fort.

The renaming of the chowk drew mixed reactions from the people with most of them welcoming the decision while urging the JMC to focus more on development and cleanliness rather than changing names.

Historic City Chowk of Jammu as Bharat Mata Chowk

JMC has already renamed the historic City Chowk of Jammu as Bharat Mata Chowk and Kachhi Chhawni Chowk as Atal Bihari Vajpayee Chowk. As per the proposal of the JMC, the bust of the late prime minister will soon be installed at the roundabout.

ALSO READ: Covid third wave may hit India in August, peak in September: SBI report

In October 2020, the BJP had won 43 out of 75 seats in the Jammu Municipal Corporation elections by a huge margin. Congress, National Conference, and People’s Democratic Party boycotted the elections.

The Center on August 5 last year abrogated the special status of Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370 of the Indian Constitution, imposed curfew in the region, and bifurcated it into two union territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

You can connect with Ground Report on FacebookTwitter, and Whatsapp, and mail us at to send us your suggestions and writeups

%d bloggers like this: