Powered by

Home Top Stories

Govt issues notification to apply 11 Central laws in J&K

The Union Government has issued notification through two orders to implement 11 central laws in the Union Territory

By groundreportdesk
New Update
60 thousand Crore investment in J&K in next 2 to 3 Years

Ground Report| News Desk| The Union Government has issued notification through two orders to implement 11 central laws in the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir and change the 10 laws of the state. These notifications have come into force with immediate effect. Jammu and Kashmir was the first state and after it emerged as a union territory, these 11 laws have been implemented while 10 have been changed.

The Union Home Ministry said in a 136-page notification that the two orders will be called the second and third order 2020, the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization (combination of central laws).

Last year, the Center announced abolition of Article 370. Subsequently, Jammu and Kashmir was divided into two union territories. Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh emerged as the new union territories on 31 October 2019. Earlier, central laws in Jammu and Kashmir did not apply until they got the approval of the state assembly. Apart from this, there were many such laws of the state government which were applicable only in Jammu and Kashmir.

The notification issued under the signature of Union Home Secretary Ajay Kumar Bhalla said, "Following orders in relation to the Union Government of Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir as per the powers conferred by Section 92 of the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Act, 2019 (34 of 2019).

List of Some Famous Hindu-Muslim couples of India

The Central Laws now in force in Jammu and Kashmir include the Uncontrolled Deposit Scheme Restriction Bill, 2019, the Building and Other Construction Workers (Regulation of Employment and Service Conditions) Act 1996, Contract Labour (Regulation and Abolition) Act, 1970, Factories Act, 1948, Industrial Disputes Act, 1947 and Industrial Planning (Standing Order) Act, 194.

Other laws that will be applicable include Motor Transport Employees Act, 1961, Pharmacy Act 1948, Sales Promotion Employees (Service Conditions) Act, 1976, Street Vendors (Livelihood Protection and Road Sales Regulation) Act, 2014 and Business Union Act, 1926 are included.

The notification said that by issuing an order, some laws implemented by the Legislative Assembly of the then Jammu and Kashmir state have been changed in names and some words.

You can connect with Ground Report on FacebookTwitter and Whatsapp, and mail us at [email protected] to send us your suggestions and writeups.