Skip to content
Home » HOME » Undemocratic BJP: Modi-Shah’s Puppet show

Undemocratic BJP: Modi-Shah’s Puppet show

Shivraj and Gadkari out from BJP parliamentary board

BJP has made a big change in its policy-making parliamentary board and central election committee. Nitin Gadkari and Shivraj Singh Chauhan have been dropped from this. Since this decision, questions have been raised about the internal democracy of the BJP, which claims to be the most democratic party. Senior BJP leader Subramanian Swamy has tweeted that “now there are no internal elections in BJP, Modi’s approval is the new constitution of BJP.

In early days of Janata Party and then BJP, we had party and parliamentary party elections to fill office bearers posts. Party Constitution requires it. Today in BJP there are no elections whatsoever ever. To every post is nominated a member with the approval of Modi.

Subramanyam Swamy, Senior BJP Leader

Democracy in BJP and other parties

BJP calls other parties less democratic than itself, saying that there is democracy in BJP. Any worker can reach a high position here. Other parties are one-man parties. Where the family or one person makes all the decisions.

The BJP claims that all decisions in their party are taken by consensus, but looking at the major decisions taken in the last few years, it seems that one person is taking all the decisions.

In the year 2014, when the command of the party came into the hands of Amit Shah, he made the biggest reshuffle in the BJP. He removed Vajpayee, Advani, and Murli Manohar Joshi from the parliamentary board, the highest decision-making body of the BJP, and put them on the Margdarshak Mandal. It was said that it is this generational change in BJP. It was believed that all the leaders beyond 75 would be sent to the Margdarshak Mandal. But after 2014, neither any leader was sent to this nor any meeting was held.

The Parliamentary Board of the BJP takes all the big decisions. Apart from Prime Minister Modi, Amit Shah, and Rajnath Singh, many veteran leaders are involved in this.

Inclusive Parliamentary board

This time 6 faces have been added to the parliamentary Board by replacing veteran leaders Shivraj Singh Chauhan and Nitin Gadkari and it has been said that this is an attempt to make the parliamentary board more inclusive.

Keeping in mind the regional representation, the leaders of North Eastern states and South have been given place. Also, for the first time, a Sikh leader has got a place on the board. After the exit of Shivraj Singh Chouhan, no chief minister is left in the parliamentary board.

The Advani Camp

Nitin Gadkari and Shivraj Singh are among the few remaining leaders of the Advani camp. Their performance at the party has been so good that it has increased their stature continuously.

The NCP has said that “the top leadership of the party was in danger due to Gadkari’s rising stature in the BJP. “

Nitin Gadkari is known for his outspokenness, he is counted among the top performing ministers of the Modi government. Recently, he said that sometimes he wants to retire from politics, because the purpose of politics has become to remain in office, not to serve society.

Sonowal, who vacated Assam’s chair for Hemanta Biswa, and Fadnavis who toppled the Uddhav government in Maharashtra, have got a place in the decision-making body.

It is also believed that in Madhya Pradesh, instead of Shivraj Singh Chouhan, the party is trying to promote Narottam Mishra. With this, the leaders of the Advani camp will be completely out of the important posts of the BJP.

It is also not easy to say how much the other leaders influence the decision of the Parliamentary Board. In such a situation, it is also reasonable to question a party that claims itself to be democratic.

Also, Read

Iltija Mufti: The Heir of a Political Legacy?

You can connect with Ground Report on FacebookTwitterKoo AppInstagram, and Whatsapp and Subscribe to our YouTube channel. For suggestions and writeups mail us at


  • Pallav Jain is co-founder of Ground Report and an independent journalist and visual storyteller based in Madhya Pradesh. He did his PG Diploma in Radio and TV journalism from IIMC 2015-16.