BJP retains power in LAHDC Leh; Wins 15 seats

The Bharatiya Janata Party has won a landslide victory in the Union Territory of Ladakh. The BJP has won 15 seats in the 26-seat Autonomous Hill Development Council elections. Congress has won 9 seats. The other two seats went to independents.

Voting took place here for the first time since the establishment of the Union Territory of Ladakh. Earlier, several parties had announced a boycott of the elections, so a delegation met Home Minister Amit Shah in Delhi. Only then was the election held.

BJP and Congress contested all the 26 seats. The Aam Aadmi Party had fielded candidates for 19 seats. There were a total of 23 independent candidates. Voting for the first time in the Autonomous Hill Council election took place on October 23 by electronic voting machine. A total of more than 54,000 people had voted.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP president JP Nadda along with other party leaders have congratulated the workers and people of Ladakh on the BJP’s victory in the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council elections.

The constituencies won by the BJP included Turtuk, Panamik, Tegar, Hunder, Diskit, Tangtse, Kungyam, Sku Markha, Thiksey, Korzok, Lingshed, Lamayuru, Martseylang, Khaltse and Chuchot.

The seats won by the Congress were Lower Leh, Upper Leh, Igoo, Saspol, Basgo, Sakti, Phyang, Skurbuchan and Temisgam. Chushul and Nyoma were two seats won by the independent candidates.

“First major victory for BJP in UT Ladakh. The BJP won 15 of the 26 seats in the Leh Autonomous District Council elections. Congrats team BJP, Ladakh UT,” tweeted party leader Ram Madhav.

Compared to the 2015 results, the BJP has come down by two seats from 17 to 15 this year.

Ladakh MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal had taken to Twitter expressing his gratitude towards the citizens of Ladakh for showcasing faith in the BJP, thanking Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP President JP Nadda and other senior leaders of the party. “We are indebted to you for your utmost trust and confidence in us. We shall strive towards fulfilling the aspirations of the people of Ladakh,” read the Ladakh MP’s post.