Skip to content
Home » HOME » All you need to know about Gareeb Kalyan rojgar yojana

All you need to know about Gareeb Kalyan rojgar yojana

Gareeb kalyan Yojana

On Saturday 20th June PM Narendra Modi launched a new scheme for migrant workers PM Garib Kalyan Rojgar yojana. Due to the nationwide lockdown for around 2 months lots of people got jobless and this had really affected migrant workers who are facing difficult challenges for their livelihood. So in accordance to provide jobs and help in regaining their livelihood opportunities to such returnee migrants, the Government of India has launched a scheme launched an immense rural Public Work scheme called ‘Gareeb Kalyan Rojgar yojana’ which will help to earn a livelihood and empower such workers.

The aim of the benefit of the scheme is to provide employment to migrant workers who lost their jobs during this lockdown. The benefit of this scheme would be received by a total of 116 districts of 6 States, such as Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Odisha, Jharkhand and Bihar. Under this scheme, 125 days of employment will be provided. 25 words will be focused under this Yojana. There should be 25,000 migrant workers in a district to be unlisted for the PM Garib Kalyan Yojana.

Also Read:  Who owns the moon? Dispute over the territory of our satellite

ALSO READ: काश सरकार ने कोई रोज़गार सेतु एप भी बनाया होता

List of works to be focused on PM Garib Kalyan Yojana

  • Community sanitation complex.
  • Gram Panchayat Bhavan.
  • Works under finance commission funds.
  • National highway works.
  • Construction of wells.
  • Water Conservation and harvesting works.
  • Horticulture.
  • Plantation (including CAMPA funds).
  • Railway works.
  • Shyama Prasad Mukherjee RURBAN mission.
  • PM Kusum works.
  • Anganwadi centre.
  • Laying of fibre optic cable under Bharat Net.
  • Works under Jal Jeevan mission.
  • Rural housing(PMAY-Gramin)
  • Rural connectivity (BMGSY and border road works.
  • Training through KVKs for livelihoods.
  • Works under PM Urja Ganga project.
  • Works through district mineral fund.
  • Solid and liquid waste management works.
  • Goat shed.
  • Poultry shed.
  • Cattle sheds.
  • Farm pounds.
  • Vermicomposting.

This scheme will be coordinated between 12 different departments of ministry such as:

  • Panchayati Raj.
  • Rural Development.
  • Mines.
  • Road transport and highways.
  • Sanitation and drinking water.
  • Environment.
  • Railways.
  • Petroleum and natural gas.
  • Telecom.
  • Agriculture.
  • Border roads.
  • Renewable Energy.

The scheme has been launched to improve livelihood in rural areas of states. Under this campaign, around 50,000 crores of public work will be reached. This scheme will help to create a durable infrastructure along with stimulating employment opportunities. With the help of this scheme, around 67 lakh migrant workers will be boosted which will be approx two-third of returnee migrants. Bihar’s Khagaria is the first district where the scheme has been started by PM Modi via video conferencing.

Also Read:  Greenfield port at Vadhavan Dahanu, Controversy Explained

ALSO READ: 6 states, changed labour law, know important changes and its impact

Eligibility for this rojgar scheme.

  • Applicant must be a citizen of the state which came under the scheme.
  • Applicant must hold Aadhar card.
  • The applicant must be of above 18 years.

Written by Kanishtha Singh, a Mass Communication student at Makhanlal Chaturvedi University(MCU), Bhopal. Interested in covering women, political and international issues.

You can connect with Ground Report on Facebook, Twitter and Whatsapp, and mail us at to send us your suggestions and write-ups.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.