Skip to content
Home » Who is Eknath Shinde, the new Chief Minister of Maharashtra

Who is Eknath Shinde, the new Chief Minister of Maharashtra

How much property CM Eknath Shinde have?

Former Maharashtra Chief Minister and BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis have said that Eknath Shinde will be the new Chief Minister of Maharashtra. After meeting the Governor, Eknath Shinde and Devendra Fadnavis held a press conference.

Devendra Fadnavis said that Eknath Shinde will take oath as Chief Minister at 7.30 pm today. He said – In the year 2019, BJP and Shiv Sena fought the elections together. But Shiv Sena had insulted public opinion. Uddhav Chhakre formed the government with Congress and NCP. Uddhav Thackeray had insulted public opinion, as BJP got the maximum number of seats.

Fadnavis said that while Balasaheb always opposed Dawood, he decided to live with a leader who supported Dawood. That leader associated with Dawood was not even removed from the post of minister. Fadnavis claimed that Eknath Shinde has the full support of Shiv Sena leaders.

Eknath Shinde, 58, is one of the senior-most leaders of Shiv Sena, who is currently the urban affairs minister in the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) government of Maharashtra. His son Shrikant Shinde is a Lok Sabha MP while his brother Prakash Shinde is a corporator.

Shinde, who lives in a hotel in Gujarat’s Surat with a group of rebel MLAs, is a popular Shiv Sena leader in Thane, where he is credited with strengthening the party.

Born in 1964, Shinde belongs to the Maratha community and is said to have left education early to make a living. However, after becoming a minister in the BJP-Shiv Sena government in 2014, Shinde resumed his studies and graduated in education from Yashwantrao Chavan Open University, Maharashtra.

Eknath Sambhaji Shinde is a cabinet minister in the Maharashtra state government – PWD (MSRDC, Public Sector Undertaking) from the Government of Maharashtra and a member of the Shiv Sena as a current Member of Legislative Assembly from Kopri-Pachpakhadi (Vidhan Sabha constituency) of Maharashtra; One of the 288 members of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

He has been elected for 4 consecutive terms to the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly in 2004, 2009, 2014 and 2019.

His dedication to the Shiv Sena was noticed and in 1997, he was given the opportunity to contest the Thane Municipal Corporation (TMC) election as a councillor, which he won with an overwhelming majority.

In 2001, he was elected as the Leader of the House in TMC. He remained in this position till 2004. As the Leader of the House in the TMC, he did not confine himself to issues related to the TMC or the city but took an active interest in the overall development and welfare of the whole Thane District.

You can connect with Ground Report on FacebookTwitterKoo AppInstagram, and Whatsapp and Subscribe to our YouTube channel. For suggestions and writeups mail us at

%d bloggers like this: