UK NHS expands official list of Covid symptoms to include 9 

The National Health Service NHS of England has updated its Covid information page, adding nine new official symptoms of the virus as free testing is axed for most of the population. Extending the list of symptoms to include ailments such as sore throats, fatigue and headaches could help reduce infections, an expert said.

The news that the list of symptoms has been updated emerged just days after the Government ended the offer of free universal tests for Covid-19. It comes as Covid infection levels have hit a record high in the UK, with almost five million people estimated to be currently infected.

The new symptoms have been added to the NHS website, along with the traditional three symptoms of fever, new and persistent cough and loss or change in taste or smell.

  • Shortness of breath
  • Feeling tired or exhausted
  • An aching body
  • A headache
  • A sore throat
  • A blocked or runny nose
  • Loss of appetite
  • Diarrhoea
  • Feeling sick or being sick

A note on the website says: “Symptoms are very similar to symptoms of other illnesses, such as colds and flu.”

The UK has had just three symptoms on the list since the virus emerged two years ago, despite other organizations such as the World Health Organization (WHO) and the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The US has had longer symptom lists for some time. .

Also Read:  Shanghai Lockdown,What Next in India?

It is understood that the government’s chief medical officer would have had to approve the expanded list of symptoms.

In England, some people still qualify for free trials in certain circumstances, but most people are now expected to pay or go without. Under the previous testing regime, people only qualified for PCR tests if they had one of three symptoms or if they had been invited to take a test.

You can connect with Ground Report on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Whatsapp and Subscribe to our YouTube channel. For suggestions and writeups mail us at