In the ongoing Women Cricket World Cup 2022, the third umpire–Ahmed Shah Pakteen– while reviewing a runout decision said ‘he is out of the ground’. Addressing a female player as a ‘he’ by the third umpire during a women’s match shows reality of our times. In addition, It tells how women face neglect due to the dominance of men in cricket.
The incident happened During a match between India and West Indies. When West Indies’ score was 8 wickets for 157 runs, there was an attempted run by Indian Player Deepti Sharma of the WI player Chedean Nation For this a third umpire was referred. India defeated West Indies by 155 runs in the ICC Women’s World Cup match in Hamilton. This is India’s second win. In this match, the West Indies team was bundled out for just 162 runs.
Recently, the ICC had decided to use gender neutral terms in cricket. Under this, the word ‘batter’ is now being used instead of batsman. While efforts are being made to make cricket commentary gender neutral, on the other hand Ahmed Shah Pakteen, who is performing a serious responsibility as the third umpire, commits such a mistake.
No objection has been lodged on this yet, as he may have said this by mistake. But third umpire Ahmed Pakteen must clarify on this gaffe.
Women’s cricket does not get as many fans as compared to men’s cricket but we have seen how women players have surprised everyone with their talent and proved many times that cricket is not just a men’s game. However, women cricketers do not get that much limelight as compared to mens cricketers.
IND Vs WI Highlights
Chasing the target of 318, West Indies was all out for 162 runs. Earlier, an aggressive start from Yastika Bhatia and centuries from Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur helped India to put on 317 for 8 in 50 overs.