Powered by

Home Sports

T20 World Cup 2022: Will Australia make history?

T20 World Cup 2022; In the T20 World Cup to be played in Australia this month, Aus will have an opportunity that no defending

By Ground report
New Update
T20 World Cup 2022: Will Australia make history?

In the T20 World Cup to be played in Australia this month, Australia will have an opportunity that no defending champion could get before.

T20 World Cup 2022

After winning the T20 World Cup held in the United Arab Emirates last year, Aaron Finch's team can create a unique record of winning two consecutive T20 World Cups by winning the World Cup in their country this year.

Earlier, Australia has the honour of winning three ODI World Cups in a row. Australia won the 1999, 2003 and 2007 ODI World Cups.

Finch, the captain of the Australian team studded with stars like David Warner, Pat Cummins and Glenn Maxwell, recently said that they will be fully prepared to defend their title.

According to the news agency AFP, he said that if there is any doubt, a more aggressive approach will be adopted. We want to play that way.'

The tournament will begin on Sunday with the match between Sri Lanka and Namibia, while on the same day, the United Arab Emirates and the Netherlands will also play.

The T20 World Cup 2022 matches will be played in the Australian cities of Adelaide, Brisbane, Hobart, Perth and Sydney, while the historic Melbourne Cricket Ground will also host these events. The final of the tournament will also be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on November 13.

Cricket experts have declared India, England and Australia as favourites for this tournament.

Pakistan and India

 The biggest match of this tournament will be played on October 23 between Pakistan and India in Melbourne, in which more than 90 thousand spectators are expected.

India is facing the unavailability of two of their key players in this tournament which include Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja.

Rohit Sharma's team is number one in the T20 world ranking, but since 2007, the Indian team has missed out on lifting the trophy of this biggest competition of T20 cricket.

England, who are ranked second in the T20 ranking, is also going to be the favourites to win this tournament. England's confidence has grown after beating Pakistan by three matches to four in the recent series.

West Indies, the only team to win T20 twice, will also have to play the qualifying round to reach the Super 12 this time.

Teams from 12 countries have been divided into two groups for this tournament.

Group One includes England, New Zealand, Australia and Afghanistan while Group Two will feature India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, South Africa and Bangladesh.

The remaining four teams in the tournament will be determined at the end of the preliminary round of West Indies, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates, Scotland, Netherlands, Namibia, Zimbabwe and Ireland.


You can connect with Ground Report on FacebookTwitterKoo AppInstagram, and Whatsapp and Subscribe to our YouTube channel. For suggestions and writeups mail us at [email protected]