Ashu Malik of SP winning Saharanpur Seat in 2022 UP assembly elections

Ashu Malik of Samajwadi Party leading on Saharanpur Seat by huge margin. Check trends.

O.S.N.CandidatePartyEVM VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of Votes
1Ajab SinghBahujan Samaj Party623542836263724.1
2Ashu MalikSamajwadi Party10671629110700741.18
3JAGPAL SINGHBharatiya Janata Party759563067626229.35
4SANDEEP KUMARIndian National Congress1212512170.47
5QURBANAazad Samaj Party (Kanshi Ram)1760417640.68
6MargoobAll India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen8179881873.15
7MEWA LALBharatrashtra Democratic Party780780.03
8Yogesh DahiyaAam Aadmi Party47424760.18
9RIYASATAamjan Ekta Party19101910.07
10VAHID ALI KHANLog Party12601260.05
11PINKI KUMARIIndependent840840.03
13LOKESH KUMARIndependent34903490.13
15NOTANone of the Above92219230.36
Total 258955900259855

Saharanpur Vidhan Sabha seat is one of the 7 Vidhan Sabha constituencies in Saharanpur district of Uttar Pradesh. In the last assembly elections 2017, Masood Akhtar of Congress had defeated his nearest rival Jagpal Singh of BSP by 12,324 votes. The election in Saharanpur will be on February 14 and results will be declared on 10th March.

Candidates in Field

  • BJP: Jagpal Singh
  • SP-RLD: Ashu Malik (SP)
  • BSP: Ajab Singh
  • CONG: Sandeep Rana

Jagpal Singh of BJP

The BJP Candidate Jagpal Singh contesting for saharanpur seat.He was three time MLA of BSP and joins BJP just before the election. He is the member of 13th(in 1996), 15th(in 2007) and 16th(in 2012) Legislative Assembly and represent Saharanpur constituency of Uttar Pradesh (UP) as a member of BSP.

Ashu Malik from SP

The Samajwadi Party Candidate from Saharanpur vidhansabha is Ashu Malik. He joined polictics in 2010, became SP pracharak in 2011. He Took oath as an MLC in 2015. Ashu Malik is greatly involved in social issues especially in education related matter. He organised massive Cycle Rally in Noida in 2012.

Ajab Singh Chaudhary From BSP

BSP has fielded Ajab Singh from Saharanpur Rural seat. Ajab Singh had earlier contested the election of the block chief on a BSP ticket. He has been in the party for a long time. His wife Ranjita Singh is a Zilla Panchayat member. Ajab Singh has been active in the countryside for the last six months.

Sandeep Rana of Congress

Sandeep Rana, the candidate of Congress. He is 39 year old. He is self employed.

Shaharanpur is Dalit-Muslim Dominated seat

Saharanpur is one of the Muslim-majority constituencies in western Uttar Pradesh.  In addition, a number of other settlements in the area are bi-religious. Both Hindus and Muslims have Tyagis, Jats, and Gujjars in their midst. As per the Election Commission data, Saharanpur has 2,76,294 registered voters. Of the total electorates, 1,51,768 are male and 1,24,509 are female registered voters.

In 2nd phase, polling will take place on 55 assembly seats in nine districts on 14th Feb. These nine districts are Saharanpur, Bijnor, Amroha, Moradabad, Rampur, Sambhal, Bareilly, Badaun, and Shahjahanpur. Results will be declared on 10th March.

Uttar Pradesh Election Phases

  • 1st Phase: February 10
  • 2nd Phase: February 14
  • 3rd Phase: February 20
  • 4th Phase: February 23
  • 5th Phase: February 27
  • 6th Phase: March 3
  • 7th Phase: March 7
  • Results: 10th March

You can connect with Ground Report on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Whatsapp and Subscribe to our YouTube channel. For suggestions and writeups mail us at