Powered by

Home हिंदी

Many states reimpose “mini lockdown”, check details, regulations

In an effort to contain the spread of the virus, many states have resorted to using partial lockdown or mini lockdown

By Kumar Saurav
New Update
लॉकडाउन मध्यप्रदेश

Since unlock began, In an effort to contain the spread of the virus, many states have resorted to using partial lockdown or “mini lockdown”to control the spread of the virus.  According to the latest health ministry data,The overall tally in India rose to 1,238,635 after over 45,000 fresh cases were registered within a span of 24 hours. The death toll also increased from 28,732 to 29,861.

With such high numbers, states are struggling to control the spread of the virus and are resorting to using partial lockdowns.

Bhopal Lockdown

With a sudden spike in the number of coronavirus cases in the last one week in Bhopal, the Madhya Pradesh government Wednesday announced a 10-day lockdown in the state capital. The lockdown will come into effect from 8 pm on Friday and remain in force until 8 am on August 4. Supply of vegetables and milk and essential services will remain open along with industries.


After the state recorded a huge surge in the number of cases, the Bihar government decided to impose a complete lockdown starting from July 16 till July 31. According to the new notification, Offices of the Central, state government, their Autonomous/Subordinate offices, and Public Corporation wings will remain closed with exceptions for essential services like home guards, civil defense, fire and emergency services etc. Shops and businesses except those dealing with essential services will be shut. The government has also decided to close religious and educational institutes in the state.

West Bengal

The bi-weekly total lockdown has begun today even as the Mamata Banerjee government has authorities maintain strict vigil to check the rapid spread of Coronavirus. People’s casual approach to lockdown guidelines and quarantine norms are causes of concern for the administration. Notably, Banks, Post Offices, and ration shops are not allowed to open in the state on July 23, 25, and 29. Apart from the bi-weekly lockdown, local administration in several areas in three districts — North 24 Parganas, Birbhum, and Bardhaman — has decided to enforce total lockdown.

Uttar Pradesh

Many district administrations in Uttar pradesh have inforeced small lockdowns in their districts. Lucknow district administration has imposed lockdown in four localities -- Sarojini Nagar, Ashiana, Ghazipur and Indiranagar -- till July 24.

During the lockdown period, only the shops selling essential items will be allowed to remain open. However, traffic will be allowed on the highways falling under these areas and construction activities on roads. Highways and projects of the Public Works Department (PWD) will also continue unrestricted. Banks, medical services, fuel stations will be open during the lockdown period.

All the shops selling non-essential goods will remain shut and sanitisation of public places and markets will be done by the municipal corporation.


The state with the highest number of Covid 19 cases is also imposing partial lockdowns. Pune has started a two-phase, 10 days lockdown from Monday, July 13 to 23. The first five days will see strict restrictions on movement including shutting down of all shops including grocery shops. After five days relaxations will be given but online deliveries will be shut till July 23. Other cities in the state are also imposing similar lockdowns.

North east

Nagaland has decided to extend the ongoing lockdown which was supposed to be lifted from July 16 to July 31. 


The state government in view of the rising cases has imposed a triple lockdown especially in the coastal containment zones. This lockdown will continue till 6 PM on 23rd July, it started on 13th July 6 AM. These regions are Manikyavilakam, Poonthura, and Puthenpally wards under the Thiruvananthapuram corporation; Chavara and Panmana in Kollam; Pattanakkadu, Kadakkarappally, Cherthala South, Mararikulam North, Kuthiyathodu, Thuravoor and Arattupuzha in Alappuzha; Chellanam in Ernakulam; Veliyamkodu, Perumbadappa, and Ponnani and Tanur municipalities in Malappuram.

Written by Kumar Saurav, He is Journalism graduate from Indian Institute of Mass Communication New Delhi.

Ground Report के साथ फेसबुकट्विटर और वॉट्सएप के माध्यम से जुड़ सकते हैं और अपनी राय हमें [email protected] पर मेल कर सकते हैं।