Home » J&K Assembly elections ‘Not Possible’ in June

J&K Assembly elections ‘Not Possible’ in June

Sharing is Important


All you need to know about Assembly elections in Kashmir  

Jammu and Kashmir Assembly elections may not be held in June due to the reasons of Ramzan Yatra, tourism season and Bakarwal migration.

Sources believe that government has reportedly cited the Ramzan Yatra, tourism season and Bakarwal migration as reasons for further delay in elections added that Election Commission could move the date to November.

What is Assembly election?

Assembly election is the election for state legislative assembly. The elected members are called MLA (Member of legislative assembly).

Leader of the winning party becomes the chief minister of that state. Every area in this country falls under two political boundaries. One is assembly seat whose winner will go to the state legislative assembly as a MLA, another is parliamentary seat whose winner will go to the country’s parliament as an MP.

Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly

The Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly also known as the Jammu and Kashmir Vidhan Sabha is the lower house of the bicameral legislature of the Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir, which is known as the Jammu and Kashmir State Legislature. It has 87 members.

READ:  India vs New Zealand WTC Final: बारिश के चलते धुला पहले दिन का खेल

The first legislature of the princely state of Jammu and Kashmir, called the Praja Sabha, was established by the government of the Maharaja Hari Singh in 1934.

The Legislative Assembly was initially composed of 100 members, later increased to 111 by the Constitution of Jammu and Kashmir (Twentieth Amendment) Act of 1988. Of these, 24 seats are designated for the territorial constituencies of the state that were administered by Pakistan in 1947.

These seats remain officially vacant as per section 48 of the state constitution. These seats are not taken into account for reckoning the total membership of the Assembly, especially for deciding quorum and voting majorities for legislation and government formation. Hence the total contestable and filled seats of the assembly are presently 87.

The Kashmir valley region has 46 seats, the Jammu region has 37 seats and the Ladakh region has 4 seats.

The first election in 1934 saw the Muslim Conference capture 14 out of the 21 seats reserved for Muslims. The National Conference boycotted the 1947 election

JK under President’s rule

The state has been under President’s rule following the expiry of six months of Governor’s rule in December. The 87-member state assembly plunged into a political crisis after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) withdrew support to the PDP government led by Mehbooba Mufti in June last year.

READ:  Jammu Kashmir में औसत से अधिक Corona Vaccination, 4 जिलों में 100% लोगों का टीकाकरण

Last year, Governor’s Rule was imposed in the state on June 19 after the ruling alliance between the BJP and Mehbooba Mufti fell apart. Six months later, on November 21, the state Assembly was dissolved by the Governor. A month later, on December 19, President’s Rule was imposed.

Its six-month term ends in July and on July 2, it needs to be extended.